Apple Pie

apple pie

A square apple pie, baked today. July 17th, 2015.

“Without ice cream, there would be darkness and chaos.” ~Don Kardong

Despite everything, I have always been one to get up/dress up & show up. I remember my mother getting angry at me and, insisting I wasn’t sick if I was willing to eat. There has never been an illness that prevented me from being hungry. Now, over my adult life I have learned when not to eat – but it didn’t stop me from being hungry.

When I went to see the psychiatrists and counselors, I always showered and put my makeup on. They would always comment at my ability at self-care – what lovely eyeshadow I had on. It’s not my nature to go without eating or showering, or combing my hair.

I really have never believed that I needed to prove my illness and, just because I’m better at putting my face on other than some or that I can bake a pie.. doesn’t mean that I am perfect and happy inside. I shouldn’t have to prove my pain. Remember folks, it’s not a competition.

Tell me what you think! ;)

